Docsumo vs Salesforce Einstein OCR

Einstein OCR alternatives for CRM teams who want agentic workflows

Einstein OCR, part of Salesforce's Einstein Vision and Language, is being retired: no renewals after May 1, 2024. Salesforce asks customers to move; its own tools include Data 360 Document AI. Docsumo is an intelligent document processing (IDP) platform: AI agents check every document and your team clears the exceptions.

A dealer's warranty claim from Copper Hollow Heating & Air for a failed heat pump compressor, $1,517.00, with a claim form, repair order, parts invoice, product registration and proof of purchase. Docsumo's AI agents sort the five documents, read every field and line, and check the claim: it bills 5.5 hours of labor at $110.00 an hour, but the technician's repair order shows 4.0 hours, 1.5 hours ($165.00) over. A workflow agent routes the claim to the manufacturer's warranty queue, where their own warranty analyst approves $1,352.00: $912.00 in parts plus 4.0 hours of labor. The approved claim reaches the CRM by API or webhook.

Case checks and workflows: Enterprise plan.

Trusted by 10,000+ mid-sized and enterprise teams, including

Docsumo vs Einstein OCR

Replace the OCR call with a whole process

Docsumo compared with Salesforce Einstein OCR on what you get, case review, workflow, pricing, free trial, documents, deployment and security, as each states on its own site, checked 25 Sep 2026
Docsumo OursIDP platformEinstein OCROCR API, being retired
What you getA finished document processAI agents read, check and route; your team clears the exceptions.An OCR API, being retiredText, boxes and a probability; no review screen described.
Case reviewEach document checked against the othersEnterpriseYour team gets only what failed, with the reason.Left to your codeIts docs describe no checks beyond that probability.
WorkflowBuilt to your processEnterpriseCase types, stages and rules, on a canvas or in plain English.Built in your Salesforce appREST API, or embedded in an app you build.
PricingQuoted plansUp to 10% off annual billing.Not publishedBought through a Salesforce account executive.
Also compared
Free trial14 days, up to 1,000 pages, 10 usersNo sign-up page; no renewals after May 1, 2024
Documents250+ document types, plus any otherSix standard forms; invoices and custom forms in beta
DeploymentDocsumo cloud; no on-premSalesforce-hosted Einstein.ai API, moved to Hyperforce
SecurityCertifiedSOC 2 Type 2ISO 27001HIPAAGDPRAs statedSOC 2ISO 27001ISO 27017/27018 alignedHIPAA

Salesforce may be the better pick if you

  • are mid-contract: Einstein OCR runs through your order term
  • want fields written to Salesforce records or Data 360
  • need ISO 27017 and 27018, which Salesforce lists and Docsumo doesn't
Sources and the date we checked them

Salesforce: retirement, OCR, forms, invoices, rate limits, release notes, security, Data 360, Document Reader. Docsumo: pricing, security. Checked 25 Sep 2026.

What you're replacing

Einstein OCR gave you text and fields. The rest was yours to build.

  • Included
  • Partly included
  • You build and run it
The layers of a document process, from OCR at the bottom to routing at the top, as included in Salesforce Einstein OCR and in Docsumo, as each states on its own site, checked 25 Sep 2026
Einstein OCRDocsumoIDP platform
You build itEmbed the API in your Salesforce appWorkflow and routingIncludedEnterpriseCanvas or plain English
You build itNot stated; your code comparesChecks across documentsIncludedEnterpriseEach document vs the others
You build itNo review screen describedReview queueIncludedPer-field confidence thresholds
You build itNot stated; you pick a model per callSorting and splittingIncludedBusinessAny document set
PartlySix standard forms; invoices in betaFields and tablesIncluded250+ document types, plus any other
IncludedTyped and handwritten, English onlyOCR and textIncludedPrinted and handwritten
Sources and the date we checked them

Salesforce: OCR, forms, invoices, model card, security. Docsumo: pricing. Checked 25 Sep 2026.

Test it on your own Salesforce Einstein OCR filesBook a demo with a few real files, or get a free trial: 14 days, up to 1,000 pages.Book a demo →or get a free trial
Switching from Salesforce Einstein OCR, in about two weeks
  1. 01Map your Einstein callsWeek 0
  2. 02Set up your processWeek 1
  3. 03Run bothWeeks 1–2
  4. 04SwitchWeek 2
How switching works
  1. Map your Einstein calls. List every app calling Einstein OCR, its model and when your term ends.
  2. Set up your process. Set up document types, checks and stages; point a webhook at your sandbox.
  3. Run both. Run 150–200 recent documents through both; count the fields a person fixed.
  4. Switch. Move production traffic to Docsumo and retire the Einstein OCR calls.
Einstein OCR alternatives

Einstein OCR competitors and alternatives, compared

Show tools with6 tools
Salesforce Einstein OCR alternatives compared on free trial, pricing, deployment and human review, as each vendor states on its own site, checked 25 Sep 2026
ToolFree trialPricingDeploymentHuman review
DocsumoOursIDP platformChecks, review and workflow built in1,000 pages14 days, 10 usersQuotedUp to 10% off annual plansCloudDocsumo-hosted; no on-premYour teamBuilt-in review queue
Salesforce Einstein OCRCloud OCR APISalesforce orgs finishing an existing Einstein contractBeing retiredNo renewals after May 1, 2024Not publishedPredictions bought via account executiveSalesforce cloud APIEinstein.ai API, moved to HyperforceYou build itAPI returns text, boxes and a probability
Data 360 Document AISalesforce IDPOrgs putting document fields into Data 360Free Data 360 creditsSalesforce customers; Document AI not stated$500 per 100k creditsFlex Credits, metered per MBSalesforce cloudNeeds Data 360 licensesYou build itPer-field confidence scores
MuleSoft IDPIntegration platformSalesforce and MuleSoft shops automating inside Flow30-day free trialNo card; LLM features need a non-trial org45 credits per pageBase tier; lower at volume; credit price not publishedCloud: US or EUAWS Virginia or Frankfurt; on-prem not statedBuilt-in review tasksYour own Anypoint users or teams review
Amazon TextractDocument AI APIAWS developers; powers Intelligent Document Reader3-month free trialAWS Paid plan; 1,000 text pages a month$1.50 per 1,000 pagesText only; forms $0.05 a page (Oregon)AWS cloudAWS regions incl. GovCloud; VPC endpointsClosed to new customersA2I review add-on; you set flag rules
Google Document AIDocument AI APIDevelopers on Google Cloud building their own pipeline$300 Google Cloud creditNew customers, 90 days$1.50 per 1,000 pagesOCR. Custom extractor: $30 per 1,000Google CloudUS or EU multi-region; some single regions (limited)DeprecatedBuilt-in HITL review, since 16 Jan 2024
Sources, checked 25 Sep 2026

As each vendor states it: Docsumo pricing, security · Salesforce Einstein OCR retirement, rate limits, docs, security · Data 360 Document AI architecture, help, pricing, billing · MuleSoft IDP trial, pricing, deployment, review, security · Amazon Textract trial, pricing, deployment, security, review · Google Document AI trial, pricing, deployment, review, security. Prices in USD.

“We love Docsumo for its ease of integration and the flexibility it provides with API and webhook callbacks.”
Howard Leiner, CTO, Arbor
Read the case study →
Questions

Questions about Einstein OCR's retirement and alternatives.

What is the best alternative to Salesforce Einstein OCR?

This page covers Einstein OCR, the text-reading part of Einstein Vision and Language (not Einstein AI overall), which is being retired. Salesforce's own options include Data 360 Document AI and MuleSoft IDP; Amazon Textract and Google Document AI are cloud APIs. Docsumo (ours) is an intelligent document processing (IDP) platform: AI agents check each file and your team clears exceptions. Keep Einstein OCR only through your term.

Is Einstein OCR retired?

It's being retired: Einstein Vision and Language, which includes Einstein OCR, can't be renewed after May 1, 2024. Customers can use it through their order term; Salesforce asks them to move each org before it expires. No final shut-off date is published.

What does Salesforce offer instead of Einstein OCR?

Salesforce's document tools today are Data 360 Document AI, its native IDP capability; Intelligent Document Reader, an add-on in ten industry clouds that runs Amazon Textract in your own AWS account and fills record fields; and MuleSoft IDP, whose Flow action needs the Automation 2.0 SKU.

How much does Salesforce Einstein OCR cost?

Salesforce publishes no price: Einstein OCR comes with Einstein Vision and Language subscriptions, bought through an account executive. Data 360 Document AI uses Data 360 credits; Flex Credits list at $500 per 100,000, and your contract sets the rate.

Is Intelligent Form Reader being retired too?

Yes. Salesforce announced its retirement on October 30, 2023, and honors existing subscriptions until they end. It recommends switching to Intelligent Document Reader with your own AWS account.

Does Einstein OCR read languages other than English?

No. Salesforce says Einstein OCR supports only English. Intelligent Document Reader reads English, Spanish, German, Italian, Portuguese and French.

Is Data 360 Document AI free?

Salesforce customers can provision Data 360 free with limited credits, but Salesforce doesn't say that covers Document AI, which also needs Data 360 licenses, with Einstein Generative AI and Agentforce turned on.

Can Docsumo send extracted data to Salesforce?

Yes, by REST API and webhooks, plus Excel and CSV export. Point the webhook at the endpoint or middleware that updates your records, map the fields and test in a sandbox.

See your Einstein OCR documents in Docsumo.

Bring a few documents you send to Einstein OCR. We'll show you the checks, review queue and your workflow on them.